Narrative and understanding

Introducing people of all ages to mythology... in pre-college educational curricula, youth orgs, the media, etc. Share your knowledge, stories, unit and lesson plans, techniques, and more.

Moderators: Clemsy, Martin_Weyers, Cindy B.

Monte
Associate

Post by Monte »

I'm a non-fiction writer, and have occasionally taught literature and history over the years at private high schools and colleges. As any teacher knows, one of the core skill sets we're expected to pass on is to answer "what's the 'message'?" You know: the take-away, the bottom line, the Cliff's Notes "themes" section, the penultimate paragraph of the five-part essay.

One of the most important things I learned from Campbell was that it's just as important to un-teach that: to recognize that the best things that "cannot be said" (at least as that kind of message) can nonetheless be apprehended through story, narrative, _mythos_. Later on I learned Saussure's "synchronic" and "diachronic," and re-purposed them: there are kinds of understanding that lend themselves to synchronic presentation, and those in which the narrative -- a diachronic arc -- is of the essence.

E.g., Christian theology is stark nonsense: ain't no way you can reconcile an omnniscient, omnipotent, omnibenevolent deity with actual evil. But tell it as a story -- God chose to be born, suffer, and die in time, so He "got it," and since then there's been a way out -- and you got something.

Other versions: A wise woman in my childhood, overhearing another adult berating me with "You should have known better than that," murmured, "You don't know better until you've done worse." Bless her; I can't count how many times I've reminded myself of that as a parent.