Please Help Me Use Mythology In a Psychiatric Hospital

Introducing people of all ages to mythology... in pre-college educational curricula, youth orgs, the media, etc. Share your knowledge, stories, unit and lesson plans, techniques, and more.

Moderators: Clemsy, Martin_Weyers, Cindy B.

AlexeiSoma
Associate

Please Help Me Use Mythology In a Psychiatric Hospital

Post by AlexeiSoma »

Hi All,

This is my first post here as I've just joined the message board. I am hoping that you guys can help me with your knowledge of myths and their power.

I am a graduate social work student in New York University and I've just begun an internship at a psychiatric hospital in Queens. Observing therapy groups done with adolescent boys, I realized that what can really interest them and connect with them are myths! I want to develop a curriculum to create a group therapy that uses myths (and possibly some accompaniment on a guitar) and I really need help. Any ideas?

These young men have suffered psychotic breakdowns due to depression/anxiety/a lack of initiation and a lack of dreams. Many of them lack role-models and lack any support in the home. Some of them may be victims of various kinds of abuse. Many of them are from the "inner-city". I am looking for stories that:

1. Can give them a sense that others have gone through deep struggles like they are going through and have come out triumphant.
2. That instill awesome values in them.
3. That make them feel like a human being can do something wonderful with their lives, even if their start is not so great.
4. That give them coping skills/ideas/frameworks of any kind to deal with their environment, their fears, their struggles.

Ultimately, I would like to create a curriculum like this for adolescent girls as well. They meet in separate therapeutic groups.

Any help at all would be much appreciated. Thank you,

Alex

Clemsy
Working Associate

Post by Clemsy »

Hi Alex, anmd welcome to the JCF Forums.