Teaching Heroism in an Inner City Drama Class

Introducing people of all ages to mythology... in pre-college educational curricula, youth orgs, the media, etc. Share your knowledge, stories, unit and lesson plans, techniques, and more.

Moderators: Clemsy, Martin_Weyers, Cindy B.

Bensajo
Associate

Teaching Heroism in an Inner City Drama Class

Post by Bensajo »

Good evening or morning, everybody (if there really is a difference)

My name is Benjamin Sajo, a teacher candidate in a bachelor of education program. All my life I've been a lover of comparative mythology and Joseph Campbell's writing--incidentally inspired by own mother, a drama teacher--and have the opportunity to prepare a six class lesson unit on heroism in a mixed-grade drama class in a multicultural, inner-city school in Ottawa, Canada. The students are extraordinarily varied in background and attitudes. My background is in music composition, as well as in drama.

It begins with this Big Idea: “A hero is an ordinary individual who finds the strength to persevere and endure in spite of overwhelming obstacles” (Christopher Reeves). Students will explore the idea of heroism through dramatic pedagogy, and how the heroic process—or monomyth—is experienced in their own lives. Students in urban communities face varied degrees of adversity, and by creatively examining how heroes are presented in the myths and legends of global traditions as well as in the modern world they may discover their own personal heroism, acquiring empowerment."

I've divided the lessons into six stages, with three pairs exploring departure, initiation, and return, with a cumulative drama piece.

I'd love to hear from anybody who's had a similar experience as this?

Kind regards,
Ben

JamesN.
Associate

Post by JamesN. »

Greetings Bensajo; A most hearty welcome to the forums and glad to have you with us.