Validity

Do you have a conversation topic that doesn't seem to fit any of the other conversations? Here is where we discuss ANYTHING about Joseph Campbell, comparative mythology, and more!

Moderators: Clemsy, Martin_Weyers, Cindy B.

Matte
Associate

Validity

Post by Matte »

Hello! This is my first time posting in this forum and I REALLY hope this is the right place to pose such a question.

So for some background, I am an undergraduate student at Western Washington University and I am writing a long research paper on Kali and Indian Goddess Mythology in Western Psychoanalysis and Psychotherapy.
In a submitted bibliography to my professor I included some Jung books concerning Kundalini, and his other works, as well as Joseph Campbell's Hero with a Thousand Faces, Goddesses, Myths of Light, and some audio lectures concerning India and Psychoanalysis.
My professor wrote back saying:
"...I also do expect you to have some measure of critical thinking toward the ideas of Jung and Campbell. Neither psychology nor the study of mythology takes their ideas seriously anymore. Which is not to say that they have no value, but there are problems with them that one should be aware of."

Through my research online I have found some scholarly criticisms to Jung but as for Campbell, other than his affinity for Jungian archetypal and symbolic theory, the criticisms I have found are rather opinion based.

What do you think of this statement? I personally have a huge infatuation with Campbell and am quite privy to Jungs theories.

JamesN.
Associate

Post by JamesN. »

Hello Matte and a warm welcome to the JCF forums.