Freemasonry

Who was Joseph Campbell? What is a myth? What does "Follow Your Bliss" mean? If you are new to the work of Joseph Campbell, this forum is a good place to start.

Moderators: Clemsy, Martin_Weyers, Cindy B.

v270355
Associate

Freemasonry

Post by v270355 »

I was curious if Joseph Campbell's views or opinions on Freemasonry are documented?

cristiflorin
Associate

Post by cristiflorin »

Hi, can you indicate for me some of his positions on freemasonry, i have no knowledge of such thing in (i have not acces to his work, except some audio recordings and some pdf files).
AUDI.VIDE.TACE.

noman
Associate

Post by noman »

I can't recall Campbell mentioning Freemasonry in any of his books or lectures. I can only imagine what he would have to say about this centuries old fraternity. As a general rule, Campbell would not rank religions, organizations, or belief systems. But he would occasionally point out possitive and negative aspects.

Freemasonry has much to be admired as a quasi-secret society that is not religiously exclusive or rigidly dogmatic though usually maintaining the belief in some sort of 'supreme being' ; a society, furthermore, that maintains a loose doctrine of brotherly love, charity, and a belief the the value of moral philosophy.

If Campbell ever mentioned this organization it might be as the remnants of one of the guilds of craftmen that helped build the magnificent Cathedrals of Europe in the High and Late Middle Ages. But I'm just guessing. We don't have any evidence of Freemasonry until the end of the 16th century (according to Wiki) and I don't recall Campbell ever mentioning this organization.

- NoMan

Neoplato
Associate

Post by Neoplato »

Are the freemasons related to the illuminati? I have no clue.
Infinite moment, grants freedom of winter death, allows life to dawn.

boringguy
Associate

Post by boringguy »

Hi all,