Neuroscience: Thou art That

What needs do mythology and religion serve in today's world and in ancient times? Here we discuss the relationship between mythology, religion and science from mythological, religious and philosophical viewpoints.

Moderators: Clemsy, Martin_Weyers, Cindy B.

Og
Associate

Neuroscience: Thou art That

Post by Og »

I'm a physicist and engineer by training and went to get my PhD in the field of Biophysics with a focus in neurobiology and behavior. So I came to the biological problem with the eyes and mindset of an engineer.

To me, it's clear that the notion of free will is false. In the same way that a surgeon can stimulate your open brain on surgical table to produce behaviors outside your control, once you're sewn up and moving about in the world, the same kind of stimuli are being applied. In the "walking about in the world" case, these stimuli are those from your sensory neurons and there are tens of millions of them into your brain in a complex pattern. But still, your neural tissue is stimulated by sensory signals and adapts to these stimuli.

Every single element of your brain is a deterministic machine that responds in a given way to inputs and the product of the massively complex network of 100 billion neurons and 100 trillion connections between them (all with dynamic features that respond to input signals) that produce higher order computation and awareness.

Every individual is a product of the environment that they are part of as they grow from birth to death. The behavior is complex, but the notions of free will and of choice and of good and evil are all clearly illusions under this realization that modern neuroscience is bringing. Free will and biochemistry just plain don't mix. The brain is effectively a highly complex and adaptive feedback control system and computation and storage unit with high bandwidth sensory inputs for a variety of external signals.